Whisper of Smoke – If you loved a book

By Bette Lee Crosby / February 24, 2015

Whisper of Smoke – If you loved a book

At thirteen, Susanna doesn’t realize she has a dysfunctional family – they are just hers. But when family secrets emerge that threaten Susanna and her siblings, she begins to see that things are not as simple as she’s always believed. Time passes, and as Susanna grows older to the backdrop of the 1960s, her best friends Calvin and Shelly are right beside her — until her feelings for Calvin grow beyond friendship, and suddenly the world has turned upside down. Not even Shelly’s brash humor can break through her heartbreak as Calvin deploys to Vietnam, in love with someone else and even more out of reach than ever.

But then Susanna realizes that Calvin needs her like never before, and she won’t abandon him – even at the expense of her own heart. And as trouble at home reaches its pinnacle, Susanna’s sense of honor, and fault, are challenged by Calvin’s experiences in war. Now, even as her love for Calvin threatens to destroy her, she finds herself at a crossroads – repeat the mistakes of the past or face the awful truth. And, with her dysfunctional family surrounding her, it all boils down to a choice between fear and hope.

A WHISPER OF SMOKE is a coming-of-age love story that is rich and deeply sensitive. Winner of the 2014 Maggie Award for Excellence and the 2014 Heart of Denver Aspen Gold Award, it “reminds us of how exciting, beautiful and painful growing up really is.” — Judge, Writers’ Digest

About the author

Angela has worked for nearly twenty years in accounting, writing in her spare time. She began writing at the age of eight, when she produced a neighborhood newspaper, until an expose written based on sketchy facts shut her down for good! Since then, she’s written two other novels and various short stories, but this is her first published novel. Her short story, The Ceremony (inspired by a scene in this book), was a finalist in the New Millennium writing contest, and she studied craft at the Algonkian Writers’ Conference where she met fabulous writers that continue to serve as an inspiration to her. She lives in Nashville, TN with her family, one tiny dog and a bob-tailed cat.

Note: In March 2014 the cover of ‘A Whisper of Smoke’ changed. If you added it to your ‘To Read’ list prior to that, your cover is different but the book is still the same! Check it out on Amazon.com, Barnesandnoble.com or Smashwords.com to see the new cover!

If you loved a book tell a friend!

I gave this book 5 stars on Goodreads. What did you think? What book would you recommend to a friend this week?

About the author

Bette Lee Crosby

USA Today Bestselling and Award-winning novelist Bette Lee Crosby's books are "Well-crafted storytelling populated by memorable characters caught up in equally memorable circumstances." - Midwest Book Review The Seattle Post Intelligencer says Crosby's writing is, "A quirky mix of Southern flair, serious thoughts about important things in life and madcap adventures." Samantha from Reader's Favorite raves, "Crosby writes the type of book you can't stop thinking about long after you put it down." "Storytelling is in my blood," Crosby laughingly admits, "My mom was not a writer, but she was a captivating storyteller, so I find myself using bits and pieces of her voice in most everything I write." It is the wit and wisdom of that Southern Mama Crosby brings to her works of fiction; the result is a delightful blend of humor, mystery and romance along with a cast of quirky charters who will steal your heart away. Her work was first recognized in 2006 when she received The National League of American Pen Women Award for a then unpublished manuscript. She has since gone on to win nineteen awards for her work; these include: TheRoyal Palm Literary Award, the FPA President's Book Award Gold Medal, Reader's Favorite Award Gold Medal, and the Reviewer's Choice Award.

1 comment

Leave a comment:


close
Facebook IconTwitter IconBe My FriendBe My FriendBe My Friend
%d bloggers like this: