Bette brought the characters to life – The Regrets of Cyrus Dodd

June 6, 2016 Book Reviewer Salute 0

The Regrets of Cyrus Dodd

The Regrets of Cyrus Dodd

Series: Wyattsville Series, Book 4
Genre: Literary Fiction
ISBN: 9780996921442
“I have heard it said that a man who cries is spineless, a weakling not worthy of his salt, but this I can tell you, a man who has never shed a tear has not yet learned to love..."
About the Book

Buy The Regrets of Cyrus Dodd – CLICK HERE

Revenge, death, deception… These are the things Cyrus Dodd has to overcome if he is to give Ruth the life he’s promised her. The problem is he’s got a prideful nature and when a seemingly innocuous argument leads to a bitter feud with his neighbor, his life changes forever. The plans he has falls by the wayside and before he finds a way to fix it, he comes to understand the meaning of regret.
In this early twentieth century family saga, two men come up against each other—both are iron-willed and stubborn. One will lose his farm; the other will lose his family. In a tale of betrayal, murder and revenge two West Virginia farmers will discover that being right does not necessarily mean being happy.
Believing he has lost everything Cyrus Dodd is forced to start over. He promises Ruth that this time it will be better, but the truth is he doesn’t know if it’s a promise he can keep.

About the Author
Bette Lee Crosby

USA Today Bestselling and Award-winning novelist Bette Lee Crosby brings the wit and wisdom of her Southern Mama to works of fiction--the result is a delightful blend of humor, mystery and romance along with a cast of quirky charters who will steal your heart away.

Born in Detroit and raised in a plethora of states scattered across the South and Northeast, Crosby originally studied art and began her career as a packaging designer. When asked to write a few lines of copy for the back of a pantyhose package, she discovered a love for words that was irrepressible. After years of writing for business, she turned to works of fiction and never looked back. "Storytelling is in my blood," Crosby laughingly admits, "My mom was not a writer, but she was a captivating storyteller, so I find myself using bits and pieces of her voice in most everything I write."

Crosby's work was first recognized in 2006 when she received The National League of American Pen Women Award for a then unpublished manuscript. Since that, she has gone on to win several more awards, including another NLAPW award, Royal Palm Literary Awards, the FPA President's Book Award Gold Medal and Reviewer's Choice Award and Reader's View Southeast Fiction Literary Award.

Her published works to date are: Jubilee's Journey (2013), What Matters Most (2013), The Twelfth Child (2012), Cupid's Christmas (2012), Cracks in the Sidewalk (2011), Spare Change (2011), and Life in the Land of IS (2012). Life in the Land of IS is a memoir written for Lani Deauville, a woman the Guinness Book of Records lists as the world's longest living quadriplegic.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Bette brought the characters to life – The Regrets of Cyrus Dodd

Angelina from Goodreads says:
I didn’t know what to expect when I first opened this book The Regret of Cyrus Dodd. However when I read the first few lines I wanted to know more about this person who spoke these words,
…I have heard it said that a man who cries is spineless, a weakling not worthy of his salt, but this I can tell you: a man who has never shed a tear has not yet learned to love…, which piqued my interest intensely.

The story surrounds Cyrus and his wife Ruth who live on a farm in a small town, Elk Bend, where everyone knows one another. Cyrus has a neighbor, Virgil Jackson, who is very competitive and hates to lose to anyone as with the first sour encounter between them over a piglet. From the anger and hatred that the two men harbored for one another a series of unfortunate events befell first Cyrus and then Virgil. After each event each man blamed the other and their anger and hatred grew out of control.

Losing two babies which caused Ruth to become despondent and depressed was the impetus behind Cyrus and Ruth leaving Elk Bend to begin life anew in Wyattsville. Though they made a new life for themselves, Cyrus could not help thinking about all they had lost and piling up regrets in his mind. Through it all Ruth loved and supported him, while raising a family in their new home. Eventually as life went on Cyrus came to realize that he had no regrets but he had plenty of rich memories stored up.

I regret that I did not read the first three books in this series, however they are on my list. Bette brought the characters to life as though they were living right next door. I was able to vividly picture every word that was written.

Leave a Reply