Whisper of Smoke – If you loved a book

February 24, 2015 #tellafriend 1

Whisper of Smoke – If you loved a book

At thirteen, Susanna doesn’t realize she has a dysfunctional family – they are just hers. But when family secrets emerge that threaten Susanna and her siblings, she begins to see that things are not as simple as she’s always believed. Time passes, and as Susanna grows older to the backdrop of the 1960s, her best friends Calvin and Shelly are right beside her — until her feelings for Calvin grow beyond friendship, and suddenly the world has turned upside down. Not even Shelly’s brash humor can break through her heartbreak as Calvin deploys to Vietnam, in love with someone else and even more out of reach than ever.

But then Susanna realizes that Calvin needs her like never before, and she won’t abandon him – even at the expense of her own heart. And as trouble at home reaches its pinnacle, Susanna’s sense of honor, and fault, are challenged by Calvin’s experiences in war. Now, even as her love for Calvin threatens to destroy her, she finds herself at a crossroads – repeat the mistakes of the past or face the awful truth. And, with her dysfunctional family surrounding her, it all boils down to a choice between fear and hope.

A WHISPER OF SMOKE is a coming-of-age love story that is rich and deeply sensitive. Winner of the 2014 Maggie Award for Excellence and the 2014 Heart of Denver Aspen Gold Award, it “reminds us of how exciting, beautiful and painful growing up really is.” — Judge, Writers’ Digest

About the author

Angela has worked for nearly twenty years in accounting, writing in her spare time. She began writing at the age of eight, when she produced a neighborhood newspaper, until an expose written based on sketchy facts shut her down for good! Since then, she’s written two other novels and various short stories, but this is her first published novel. Her short story, The Ceremony (inspired by a scene in this book), was a finalist in the New Millennium writing contest, and she studied craft at the Algonkian Writers’ Conference where she met fabulous writers that continue to serve as an inspiration to her. She lives in Nashville, TN with her family, one tiny dog and a bob-tailed cat.

Note: In March 2014 the cover of ‘A Whisper of Smoke’ changed. If you added it to your ‘To Read’ list prior to that, your cover is different but the book is still the same! Check it out on Amazon.com, Barnesandnoble.com or Smashwords.com to see the new cover!

If you loved a book tell a friend!

I gave this book 5 stars on Goodreads. What did you think? What book would you recommend to a friend this week?

One Response to “Whisper of Smoke – If you loved a book”

Leave a Reply